Smucke Steed, Baltic Sea / Germany

The nicest place to stay at the Baltic Sea: The Smucke Steed.

From the breakfast terrace you have a beautiful view to the Fjords.

The modern extension: The cabin with a Sauna inside.

A room with a view: No. 7 (highly recommended).

All rooms are very bright.

Divine: The breakfast.

The garden with some “pretty” lounge chairs.

Very clean: The lounge in the Sauna house.

Sublime happiness right at the German Baltic Sea: The Smucke Steed is a copybook Pretty Hotel – bright, comfortable rooms in a historical, evolved property, a garden to relax in and thanks to flickable hosts, a very friendly atmosphere.

As always, let’s start with a bit of geography: The tiny town of Glücksburg is located on the Baltic Sea, right in the north of Germany, one and a half hours drive from Hamburg. To be honest, this little strip of land immediately reminds you of Long Island in the United States. Raucous beaches and wonderful nature, and just across the water lies Denmark and in the bay, little sailing boats glide out into the open sea.

About seven minutes walk from the beach you will find – very idyllic and tranquil – the small, but sublime guesthouse Smucke Steed. The name originates from the German Plattdeutsch and means something like “A Snug House“. When you walk up the little alley towards the entrance, you spy a few sun beds on the lawn and a modern extension, a cabin, in which a sauna and a conference room are located.

Then, in the main building’s interior: a total of only 16 bright rooms with high ceilings, each one a little different, but all light, with a Scandinavian style and furnished to a high standard. The beds especially are real jewels. At the end of their stay, most guests ask about the non-ironed duvets, because they want to use it themselves at home.

Hosts Tine and Sönke personally take care of the guests, provide recommendations about where to go during the day and also create a wonderfully homely atmosphere to enable a tranquil, relaxing stay..

CUISINE

The Smucke Steed serves a very substantive breakfast, which may be enjoyed right up to twelve noon. Apart from the usual delicacies there are home-made dips made of cream cheese, basil and paprika for example. When the weather is clement you can dine outside on the terrace with a view to the fjords. For Dinner, there are lots of good restaurants in Glücksburg. We dined at Nobus, which we highly recommend. They serve world class food, all a bit more modern, and with a view to the ocean.

SURROUNDINGS

As previously mentioned, Glücksburg belongs to one of the most beautiful spots on the Baltic Sea. The best thing is to rent a bicycle and ride right around the peninsular. Just this brings a moment of pure joy. Beach-lovers simply stay on the beach nearby  and rent out a typical German beach chair.

CHILDREN

Kids are welcome. On request, little sleeping niches can be built for them in their rooms. The garden also contains a small sand pit. However, basically the Smucke Steed is more a place of tranquility for people looking to relax.

LOCATION

Google Maps Link

PRICES

Double rooms from 105 euros including the splendid breakfast.

BOOKING & CONTACTS

Smucke Steed
Paulinenallee 5
24960 Glücksburg
Germany

Website: www.smucke-steed.de

Send E-Mail

Smucke Steed, Glücksburg / Ostsee

Die schönste Pension der Ostsee: Das Smucke Steed.

Von der Frühstücksterrasse aus hat man einen wunderbaren Blick auf die Flensburger Förde.

Kleiner Neubau auf dem Areal: Das Saunahaus.

A room with a view und Morgensonne: Zimmer No. 7 im Erdgeschoss.

Alle Zimmer bestechen durch ihre Helligkeit.

Das Frühstück: Weltklasse.

Wer möchte, legt sich nachmittags einfach in den Garten.

Schlicht, aber schön: Der Ruheraum im Saunahaus.

Vollendetes Glück an der Flensburger Förde: Das Smucke Steed ist ein Pretty Hotel wie es im Buche steht – helle, gemütliche Zimmer in einem historisch gewachsenen Anwesen, ein Garten zum Entspannen und Dank sympathischer Gastgeber eine sehr familiäre Atmosphäre.

Wieder etwas Geografie zu Beginn: Die Stadt Glücksburg befindet sich an der Ostsee, etwas nord-östlich von Flensburg, also ganz oben in Deutschland. Die Halbinsel erinnert einen sofort an Long Island in den USA. Raue Strände und eine wunderschöne Natur. Auf der anderen Seite des Wassers liegt Dänemark und in der Bucht gleiten kleine Segelboote aufs offene Meer hinaus.

Etwa sieben Spazierminuten vom Strand entfernt, liegt – sehr idyllisch und ruhig – die kleine, feine Pension Smucke Steed. Der Name stammt aus dem Plattdeutschen und heißt übersetzt so viel wie „Ein schmucker Platz“. Das ist es auch in allen Belangen. Wer die kleine Allee zum Eingang spaziert, erblickt auf dem Rasen zuerst ein paar Liegestühle und einen modernen Anbau, in dem sich eine Sauna und ein kleiner Tagungsraum befindet.

Drinnen im Haupthaus dann: Helle, hohe Räume und nur 16 Zimmer, jedes etwas anders, aber alle hell, skandinavisch schlicht und qualitativ hochwertigst eingerichtet. Vor allem die Betten sind ein echtes Juwel, die meisten Gäste fragen im Anschluss nach der ungebügelten Bettwäsche, um sie auch zuhause verwenden zu dürfen.

Das junge Betreiber-Ehepaar, Tine und Sönke, legt persönlich großen Wert darauf, dass sich die Gäste in ihrem Kleinod wirklich wohlfühlen. Sie geben Tipps, an welchen Orten man sich den Tag verschönern kann und schaffen eine wunderbar heimelige Atmosphäre für einen ruhigen, entspannten Aufenthalt.

Kulinarik

Im Smucke Steed wird ein sehr umfangreiches Frühstück serviert, das bis 12 Uhr eingenommen werden darf. Neben den üblichen Köstlichkeiten gibt es auch selbstgemachte Dips aus Frischkäse, Basilikum und Paprika beispielsweise. Bei schönem Wetter speist man auch draußen auf der Terrasse mit Blick auf die Förde.  Dinnerplätze gibt es in Glücksburg viele, sehr zu empfehlen ist das neue Restaurant Nobus am Strand. Weltklasse Essen, alles etwas moderner, aber mit Blick aufs Meer.

Umgebung

Wie gesagt, die Umgebung von Glücksburg gehört zu den schönsten Ostseeflecken, die es gibt. Man mietet am besten ein Fahrrad und fährt die Halbinsel einmal ab. Schon ist man glücklich. Strandliebhaber bleiben einfach am „Hausstrand“ in Glücksburg und mieten sich dort einen Strandkorb.

Kinder

Kids sind kein Problem, auf Wunsch werden für die Kleinen in den Zimmern eigene Schlafplätze gebaut, im Garten gibt es auch einen kleinen Sandkasten. Grundsätzlich ist das Smucke Steed aber eher ein Ort der Ruhe und Ruhesuchenden.

Lage

Google Maps Link

Preise

Doppelzimmer ab 105 Euro inklusive dem großartigen Frühstück.

Buchung & Kontakt

Smucke Steed
Paulinenallee 5
24960 Glücksburg (Ostsee)
www.smucke-steed.de

E-Mail Anfrage