The Minturn Inn, Minturn – Vail / Colorado (USA)

The beautiful Minturn Inn is located in an old gold mining town and just eight minutes from the world famous ski slopes of Vail, Colorado. If you check in here, you will experience the Rocky Mountains from their most beautiful side – authentic, unfiltered and absolutely affordable.

Although Minturn is a very small historic mining town, it is well known among skiers: this is due to the backcountry ski run called “The Minturn Mile”. It leads from the top of the huge ski area in Vail in out-of-bounds territory, down to the small western town of Minturn. Skiers usually end up in the world-famous “Minturn Saloon” with a beer or one of the legendary margaritas (or two or three). The challenge is always to find someone in the saloon, who can take you back to Vail to save the cost of the taxi ride. In the old times skiers ended up getting a ride from a local on the back of a huge pickup truck.

But that does not have to be any longer since you can now stay in Minturn directly.

Marco Tonazzi, a former Italian pro skier, also skied the “Minturn Mile” and fell so in love with the small town that he bought a charming Bed & Breakfast and now runs it with his wife Amy as a beautiful and authentic “Inn”. The Minturn Inn has only nine rooms, all of which are very cosy and comfortable, with that wonderful Colorado-Western charm, just the kind of charm that has completely disappeared from the big, expensive hotels in the neighboring town of Vail.

Apart from that, a room in Vail costs about three times as much.

Downstairs in the foyer there is a small lounge with fireplace, and a small kitchen where Inn-keeper Jocelyn prepares your breakfast and where you can make yourself a cup of tea in the afternoon.

But it`s this authentic and cosy atmosphere, which makes this place so special! The main road is filled with these typical small homes of a former mining town, and when you look out of the window of your room, you can see the old spirit, that will warm your heart. You feel like being in a totally remote place in the wilderness, but on the other hand you are right next to the glamour and glitter of Vail and Beaver Creek (and even Aspen).

The Area

The ski resort of Vail can be reached either by bus or car in about ten minutes and the luxurious ski resort of Beaver Creek is only 15 minutes away. If you buy a ski pass from Vail Resorts, you can also ski in Breckenridge (45 mins) or Keystone (35 mins away) – all fantastic ski areas you need to see at least once in your lifetime. 

Dining

Breakfast is served at the Minturn Inn at the large table in the lounge. Of course, there are Italian espresso and homemade baked specialties lovingly prepared by the Inn-keeper Jocelyn. Because all guests have breakfast at a table, you can already find out the secrets for the day here. Lunch and dinner are served in Minturn or the neighboring villages. A visit for dinner at the famous Minturn Saloon (3 minutes on foot) is of course mandatory.

Location

Google Maps Link

map

Special

The inn is also suitable for larger groups, who can have the house completely for themselves. Marco has been living in the area for over 20 years and is happy to help with absolute insider tips or even serve as your guide.

Prices

Double room from 189 US dollars including breakfast (for two).

getting there

Vail and Minturn can be reached via Denver Int`l Airport and then by shuttle (3 hours) or rental car (2 hours).

Booking & Contacts

The Minturn Inn
442 Main St
Minturn / Colorado 81645
United States

www.minturninn.com

Check Availability

The Minturn Inn, Minturn – Vail / Colorado (USA)

Das Minturn Inn liegt in einer alten Goldgräberstadt und nur acht Minuten von den weltberühmten Skipisten von Vail / Colorado entfernt. Wer hier eincheckt, erlebt die Rocky Mountains von ihrer schönsten Seite – authentisch, ungefiltert und absolut leistbar.

Minturn ist zwar eine sehr kleine Goldminen-Stadt, aber sie ist unter Skifreaks äußerst bekannt: Das liegt an der Tourenabfahrt „The Minturn Mile“. Sie führt vom letzten Lift des riesigen Skigebietes in Vail aus über einen Pfad, der nie präpariert ist, hinunter in den kleinen Western-Ort Minturn und endet in der Regel im weltbekannten „Saloon“ mit einem Bierchen (oder auch zwei oder drei). Die Challenge bestand auch darin, jemanden im Saloon zu finden, der einen dann mit zurück nach Vail nahm, um sich das Taxi zu sparen. Meist landete man auf der Ladefläche eines riesigen Pick-ups.

Auch Marco Tonazzi, ein ehemaliger Skirennfahrer aus Italien, fuhr einst die „Minturn Mile“, und verliebte sich derart in den kleinen Ort, dass er ein bezauberndes Bed&Breakfast kaufte und es nun zusammen mit seiner Frau Amy als „Inn“ führt. The Minturn Inn hat nur neun Zimmer, die alle sehr authentisch daherkommen, also vor allem gemütlich, mit diesem wunderbaren Colorado-Western-Charme, eben genau jenem Charme, der den großen, teuren Hotels im Nachbarort Vail komplett abhanden gekommen ist. Abgesehen davon kostet ein Zimmer in Vail etwa das dreifache.

Unten im Foyer gibt es eine kleine Lounge mit Kaminfeuer, und eine kleine Küche, in der das Frühstück zubereitet wird und in der man sich auch am Nachmittag einen Tee machen kann.

Umgebung

Das Skigebiet von Vail erreicht man entweder mit dem Skibus oder dem Auto in ca. acht Minuten, in das luxuriöse Skigebiet von Beaver Creek sind es 20 Minuten. Wer einen Pass der Vail Resorts kauft, kann auch in Breckenridge (45 Min.) oder Keystone (35 Minuten entfernt) fahren – alles traumhafte Skigebiete, in denen man einmal im Leben gefahren sein muss.

Essen

Das Frühstück wird im Minturn Inn am großen Tisch in der Lounge serviert. Natürlich gibt es italienischen Espresso und selbst gemachte, mit viel Liebe zubereitete lokale Spezialitäten. Weil alle Gäste an einem Tisch frühstücken, erfährt man schon hier die Geheimtipps für den Tag. Lunch und Dinner bekommt man dann in Minturn oder den Nachbarorten. Ein Besuch zum Dinner im Saloon (3 Minuten zu Fuß) ist natürlich Pflicht.

Lage

Google Maps Link

Karte

Special

Das Inn eignet sich auch für größere Gruppen, die das Haus dann komplett für sich haben. Marco lebt seit über 20 Jahren in der Gegend und hilft gerne mit absoluten Insidertips zur Gegend. Colorado ist übrigens auch im Sommer ein absolutes Traum-Urlaubsziel.

Preise

Doppelzimmer ab 189 US-Dollar inklusive Frühstück für zwei Personen.

Anreise

Vail und Minturn erreicht man via Flughafen Denver (Lufthansa fliegt täglich direkt von München) und anschließend mit dem Shuttle (3 Stunden) oder Mietwagen (2 Stunden).

Buchung & Kontakt

The Minturn Inn
442 Main St
Minturn, Colorado 81645
USA

www.minturninn.com

Buchungs-Anfrage