Farmhouse of the Palms, Algarve / Portugal

With their Farmhouse of the Palms in the south of Portugal, Veronique and Frank Persyn have made their own dream of creating the perfect holiday retreat come true: Modern design meets countryside simplicity. 

Recently, a lot of sophisticated boutique hotel concepts have popped up in the Southern regions of Portugal. Farmhouse of the Palms, however, is still unique because it perfectly satisfies the needs of urban entrepreneurs in a holiday retreat. And due to one of the most perfect climates in Europe, this place is also heaven on earth in mid-seasons spring and autumn. 

When we visited, we really fell in love with the spacious rooms with ample privacy, the stylish pool with a magnificent view of the hinterland and the beautifully designed nooks to either stay undisturbed or network with the rest of the world. 

The very gentle owners, the Flemish couple Veronique and Frank, have always had a dream of opening their own bed and breakfast. They toured different places until they finally zoomed in on the Algarve region. With the 200-year-old “Monte”, the Portuguese word for “estate”, they both found the perfect place to unwind. Little by little, they transformed the ruin into a guesthouse with only five rooms. Their aim? To offer their guests as much peace and space as possible. 

The simple design, the natural stone and the whitewashed wood exude a peaceful atmosphere. With both patience and the knack to try something different they managed to combine the simplicity of Portuguese rural life with harmonious design elements — with all the key components produced in workshops by local artisans. The modern bathrooms and the straightforward interior are an exciting contrast to the old building with its stone walls, historic tiles and old bread oven.

Since days usually start with sunshine over here the guests mingle in the morning for breakfast in the garden. If desired, Veronique also offers small dishes for lunch. All other drinks during the day are served at the “honesty bar”.

Most beautiful detail

The noble look of the outdoor pool with its black mosaic tiles — together with the fantastic view over the entire valley!

Ideal for

Couples who appreciate tranquility as well as beautiful design in one of the most southern locations of Europe (just think of the climate in late October!). Since two rooms can accommodate up to four people, the Farmhouse of the Palms is also suitable for families and friends.

Surroundings

Small trips lead to Loulé or São Brás de Alportel. Only half an hour’s drive are the towns of Faro and Olhão. So the idyllic serenity can be left behind for the bustling city life whenever you need it.

Distance to the beach

The beaches in Faro and nearby are only a 25 minutes drive by car, so you can easily plan it for the day. 

Location

Google Maps Link

Prices

Doubles from 115 Euros for two, including breakfast.

Booking & Contacts

Farmhouse of the Palms
Cerro do Botelho
8150-027 São Brás de Alportel
Algarve / Portugal

www.farmhouseofthepalms.pt

Book Online

Farmhouse of the Palms, Algarve / Portugal

Mit ihrem zauberhaften Farmhouse an der Algarve haben Veronique und Frank Persyn ihren Traum vom eigenen Rückzugsort wahr gemacht. Wir haben es besucht und entdeckten neben schönem Design vor allem die Einfachheit des portugiesischen Landlebens.

Im Süden von Portugal tummeln sich ja schon ein paar ausgeklügelte Boutique-Hotel-Konzepte. Das Farmhouse of the Palms aber ist dennoch etwas besonderes, weil es mit mutiger Distanz zum Meer und in idyllischer Alleinlage die Bedürfnisse kreativer Menschen erfüllt: Geräumige Zimmer mit viel Privatsphäre, dazu ein stylischer Pool mit grandiosem Ausblick und überall sehr überlegt gestaltete Nischen, um sich mit seinem Notebook zu verkrümeln und mit dem Rest der Welt in Kontakt zu bleiben.

Das flämische Paar Veronique und Frank hatte schon immer den Traum, ein eigenes Bed & Breakfast zu eröffnen. Sie bereisten verschiedene Orte bis die Wahl auf die Algarve fiel. Mit dem 200 Jahre alten „Monte“, so das portugiesische Wort für Landgut, fanden beide den perfekten Ort zum Entschleunigen. Stück für Stück verwandelten sie die Ruine in ein Gästehaus mit nur 5 Zimmern. Da das Anwesen aber nicht klein ist, haben alle genug Raum für sich. 

Was uns sehr gefiel: Das schlichte Design, der Naturstein und die weiß gestrichenen Hölzer verströmen eine friedliche Atmosphäre. Mit viel Geduld und Experimentierfreudigkeit haben sie die Einfachheit des portugiesischen Landlebens mit stimmigen Elementen lokaler Handwerker vereint. Die modernen Badezimmer und das geradlinige Interieur sind ein spannender Kontrast zum Altbestand des Hauses mit seinen Steinmauern, den historischen Fliesen und dem alten Brotbackofen.

Und weil an der Algarve ja fast immer die Sonne scheint 8so auch bei unserem Besuch), frühstücken die international zusammengewürfelten Gäste meist im Garten. Falls gewünscht, bietet Veronique auch mittags kleine Gerichte. Für die Drinks tagsüber und abends bedient man sich an der Honesty-Bar.

Schönstes Detail

Die edle Optik des Außenpools mit seinen schwarzen Mosaikfliesen – und dazu der fantastische Ausblick über das gesamte Tal!

Ideal für

Paare, die Ruhe ebenso schätzen wie schönes Design. Da zwei Zimmer Platz für bis zu vier Personen bieten, eignet sich das Farmhouse of the Palms auch für Familien und Freunde. Und nicht zu unterschätzen: Die südliche Lage. Bis Ende Oktober ist es an der Algarve immer schön warm. 

Umgebung

Kleine Ausflüge führen nach Loulé oder dem benachbarten Ort São Brás de Alportel. Faro und Olhão sowie die Strände sind nur 25 Autominuten entfernt – perfekt für einen schönen Tagesausflug an die Beach.  

Lage

Google Maps Link

Preise

DZ ab 115 Euro für zwei inklusive Frühstück.

Buchung & Kontakt

Farmhouse of the Palms
Cerro do Botelho
8150-027 São Brás de Alportel
Algarve / Portugal

www.farmhouseofthepalms.pt

Verfügbarkeit Prüfen