Pretty Hotels

Haus Anna Plochl, Bad Aussee / Austria

The boss: Bettina Grieshofer doing the beds.

You don’t know Ausseer Land? Well, then you sure have missed out on something. The region just south of Salzburg is yours to discover — between imposing mountain backdrops, crystal-clear lakes prepare to find traditional homes in a picture perfect setting.

In Ausseer Land nature meets Austrian “Gemütlichkeit” and traditional architecture. While this may be news to you, the area has been quite popular ever since Kaiser Karl and Sissi ruled the country, nobles and intellectuals chose to spend their summers here. Once you drive through the picturesque village of Bad Aussee you understand why. You immediately will want to settle down in one of those small houses with their historical wooden facades. And in the streets you see people wearing the typical Aussee attire – Dirndl and Trachtenjanker.

So it was no surprise, that we met the host Bettina wearing a Dirndl when we checked in. A little info on top: Bettina is not only fan of Dirndls, she also runs her own Dirndl shop in the village, where she offers tailor-made clothes for locals and tourists. There, she lives out her penchant for colors and beautiful fabrics.

Since 2019 she is also a hotelier. A Pretty Hotelier, to be precise.

Have Bettina tell you the story where her Bed & Breakfast got its name from, it is quite an interesting one. Quick summary: The bourgeois Anna Plochl, a woman hailing from Aussee, once fell in love with Duke Johann from Austria. Before she was allowed to marry him she had to prove herself as an innkeeper at the Brandhof in nearby Vordernberg. The latter Countess of Meran must have done a very good job, she eventually made it into history books (and Wikipedia, of course).

Please keep it as a secret: The beautiful Bad Ausseer lake.

Miss Grieshofer is a pretty hands-on woman herself. When the two-story villa from the 19th century came up for sale, she immediately sensed potential here. During the renovation, she uncovered several treasures, including a parquet floor hidden under several layers of carpet and an old fresco that is now the eye-catcher above the deerskin sofa in the salon.

Wooden stools, antique cupboards and even radiators from the respective era, Bettina not only found them, she also took time restoring them and then combining those antiques treasures with new items. To furnish the eight boutique rooms — all of them having some reference to the Anna Plochl story – Bettina arranged Swiss stone pine wood and deer antlers to create color-coordinated cushions, curtains and carpets. The guests sleep on heavenly loden box spring beds from the company Sedda. The branded care products in the bathrooms are exclusively crafted by a cosmetic manufacturer in Aussee. Even the coat hangers are handmade and decorated.

Breakfast

Meet Grandpa Willi, concierge at night and breakfast fairy in the morning. When he’s not busy dishing out regional ingredients in family style portions, he’s always available for a little chat. Chat him up to get the best tips for excursions in the region.

Specials

  • Coffee/tea bar and a Zirbenschnaps tasting in each room.
  • Large feel-good bathrooms — almost all of them with own balcony.
  • And a gratuity bar with wine selection, beer and liqueurs.

Wellness

Indeed, there`s a small Sauna cabin in the garden, perfect after coming home from a daily mountain hike.

Ideal for

Couples who want to experience the traditional Aussee hospitality in a more modern interpretation. For celebrations and weddings the whole house can be booked.

Surroundings

A walk through Altaussee and around the lake is a must. The snack station Seewiese can only be reached on foot or traditionally with the Plätte. The most prominent peak in the Ausseerland is the Loser. A 9-kilometer-long panoramic road leads up to the Loser Alm, where you can enjoy the magnificent view from the sun terrace.

Location

Google Maps Link

Prices

Doubles including breakfast from 129.- to 264.- Euros per night. Special Offer in June 2020: 50% off for midweek stays.

Bookings & Contacts

Haus AnnaPlochl
Marktleite 184
8990 Bad Aussee
Steiermark / Austria

www.hausannaplochl.com

Send E-Mail

Pretty Hotels

Haus Anna Plochl, Bad Aussee / Österreich

Chefin und Dirndl-Expertin Bettina Grieshofer in ihrem neuen Refugium.

Ein gar nicht alltägliches Bed & Breakfast in Österreichs Geheimtipp-Gegend: Das Haus AnnaPlochl im Ausseerland sollte man besuchen, aber auch viel Zeit drumherum verbringen. 

Wer das Ausseer Land südlich von Salzburg nicht kennt: Da haben Sie was verpasst in ihrem Leben! Zwischen imposanten Bergkulissen ruhen glasklare Seen, ursprünglich, ohne viel Tamtam. Jeder Wanderpfad eine Begegnung mit der Natur, frische Luft meets traditionelle Holzhütten. Die Zeit ist hier ein wenig stehen geblieben. Ganz so unprominent wie man denkt ist diese Gegend aber nicht. Schon zu Sissis Zeiten hatten sich die Intellektuellen und Adeligen hier zum gemeinsamen Spazierengehen verabredet. Und fährt man durch den Ort Bad Aussee, möchte man sich sofort in eines der kleinen Häuschen einnisten. Die Villen haben alle noch historische Holzfassaden, auf den Straßen sieht man Menschen in typischer Ausseer Tracht.

Auch Bettina Grieshofer – unsere Gastgeberin im Haus AnnaPlochl – ist ein Dirndl-Fan. Ihr Faible für Farben und schöne Stoffe lebt sie mit ihrer Dirndl-Schneiderei aus. Sie führt im Dorf den eigenen Laden „Platzhirsch“. Seit dem Jahr 2019 ist sie nun auch Hotelière. Pretty Hotelière, wenn man es genau nimmt. 

Warum das Bed & Breakfast so heißt wie es heißt, lässt man sich am besten von Bettina persönlich erzählen. Die Geschichte handelt jedenfalls von der bürgerlichen Anna Plochl, einer waschechten Ausseerin, die sich in Erzherzog Johann von Österreich verliebte. Bevor sie ihn ehelichen durfte, musste sie sich als Wirtschafterin auf dem Brandhof in Vordernberg beweisen. Das dürfte der späteren Gräfin von Meran sehr gut gelungen sein. Denn ihr Wirken steht nun in den Geschichtsbüchern (und in Wikipedia natürlich). 

Geheimtipp für Naturliebhaber: der Altausseer See.

Auch Bettina Grieshofer packt für die Verwirklichung ihrer Ziele selbst an. Als die zweistöckige Villa aus dem 19. Jahrhundert zum Verkauf stand, erkannte sie sofort das Potenzial. Bei der Renovierung brachte sie einige Schätze zu Tage, darunter einen unter mehreren Teppichschichten verborgenen Parkettboden und ein altes Fresko, das jetzt der Blickfang über dem Hirschleder-Sofa im Salon ist.

Holzschemel, antike Schränke und sogar die Heizkörper aus der passenden Epoche trug Bettina Grieshofer zusammen, um die Fundstücke selbst zu restaurieren und mit neuen Möbeln zu kombinieren. Für die Ausstattung der acht Boutique-Zimmer, die alle auf Anna Plochls Geschichte Bezug nehmen, arrangierte Bettina Grieshofer Zirbenholz und Hirschgeweihe zu farblich abgestimmten Kissen, Vorhängen und Teppichen. Die Gäste schlafen auf himmlischen Loden-Boxspringbetten von der Firma Sedda. Die gebrandeten Pflegeprodukte in den Badezimmern werden exklusiv von einer Kosmetikmanufaktur in Aussee hergestellt. Sogar die Kleiderbügel sind von Hand gefertigt und verziert. Das gibt Pluspunkte auf allen Ebenen. 

Frühstück

Opa Willi, die gute Seele des Hauses, ist Nachtportier und Frühstücksfee zugleich.

Wenn er nicht gerade mit viel Liebe die regionalen Frühstückszutaten im Family-Style zum großen Holztisch in den Salon bringt, ist er gerne für einen kleinen Plausch zu haben. Er hat auch die besten Tipps für Ausflüge in der Region.

Specials

  • Kaffee-/Teebar sowie eine Zirbenschnaps-Kostprobe in jedem Zimmer
  • große Badezimmer zum Wohlfühlen, fast alle mit eigenem Balkon
  • Gratuity-Bar mit Weinauswahl, Bier und Likören

Wellness

Ja, ein kleines Saunahaus im Garten, perfekt nach einer Bergwanderung.

Ideal für

Paare, die die traditionelle Ausseer Gastfreundschaft in etwas modernerer Interpretation erleben möchten. Für Feiern und Hochzeiten lässt sich das gesamte Haus buchen.

Umgebung

Ein Spaziergang durch Altaussee und rund um den See ist ein Muss. Die Jausenstation Seewiese erreicht man nur zu Fuß oder traditionell mit der Plätte. Der markanteste Gipfel im Ausseerland ist der Loser. Über eine 9 Kilometer lange Panoramastraße geht’s hinauf zur Loser Alm, um dort die herrliche Aussicht von der Sonnenterrasse zu genießen. 

Lage

Google Maps Link

Preise

Doppelzimmer mit Frühstück ab 129.- bis 264.- Euro pro Nacht.

Sonderangebot

Im Juni 2020 gibt es auf alle Buchungen 50 Prozent Rabatt zwischen Dienstag und Freitag.

Buchung & Kontakt

Haus AnnaPlochl
Marktleite 184
8990 Bad Aussee
Steiermark / Österreich

www.hausannaplochl.com

E-Mail Anfrage