Hawksmoor House, Stellenbosch / South Africa

1_Hawksmoor_MG_1294

The lovely Hawksmoor House

2_Hawksmoor_MG_1470_7

…is located in the wineyards of Stellenbosch near Cape Town

3_hawksmoor_4

The house has a great history

4_Hawksmoor_MG_1315

and is nestled in the beautiful mountains

5_haawks_1

Hélène testing the “garden route” of the house

6_Hawksmoor_MG_1282

The old dining room

7_hawksmoor_3

The pharmacy room, white room & green room.

8_Hawksmoor_MG_1242

kitchen and dining room in the old house

9_Hawksmoor_MG_1401_7

The stunning grey room

10_hawksmoor_2

The interior of the grey room

11_Hawksmoor_MG_1333_5

bathroom details in the grey room

12_Hawksmoor_MG_1372_k

The koi pool and the great view to the table mountain

Hawksmoor House is not only a popular wedding location, but also a fantastic place to explore the vineyards of Stellenbosch. We visited it for a few days – and were really impressed.

In the evening, when you are driving up the South African highway number one in the direction of Paarl, you have a direct view to the the wonderful mountain range, which on some days looks very similar to the South Tyrolean Dolomites. Here the South African sun seems to possess a magical ability to turn every single peak of these rocks into a golden yellow radiance. Shortly after you take the turning for Stellenbosch, you reach Hawksmoor House. And when you have arrived at this Cape Dutch property, the only question you need to ask yourself is whether you will enjoy a Sauvignon Blanc or a Chardonnay whilst watching the sunset over Table Mountain. 

The star of the property is of course the divine surroundings with the countless vineyards in the Paarl, Stellenbosch und Franscheok triangle. All of them are beautiful and of the highest quality. However, Hawksmoor House cannot be underestimated as a fine place to lodge: it has a splendid history and manages to achieve what many other hotels can’t: the balancing act between elegant and rustic. During the day, when you’re sitting by the pool, it could easily be mistaken for a motel on the streets of Palm Springs, except for the more beautiful mountains in the background and the considerably less expensive offers on the wine list. 

The 16 rooms are all lovely, all clean and all different. Some of the rooms are named after their historical past. There is the Poison Room, but also the Pharmacy Room, in which medicaments used to really be stored and which we can highly recommend! The Tool Room is where the tools used to be kept and then there is a complete section named “Slave Cottage“, which doesn’t have to be explained any further. 

Ideal for

people who want to visit the Stellenbosch winelands of South Africa and who are looking for a very creative base for their trips right in the middle of the steppes.

Prices

Winter in the northern hemisphere (South Africa’s high season): about 70 euros per person, in summer (low season): about 50 euros per person. 

Breakfast

very good, the choice between English and continental. A cold platter is available for those who don’t want to leave the hotel during the day.

Special

Hawksmoor House belongs to the Lion Roars Hotels Group, who also offer safaris in the Amakhala Game Reserve (you can view this on our blog at: www.theprettyhotelsblog.com/?p=666.). It is therefore possible to book a combined package.   

Location

Google maps: http://goo.gl/maps/43k23

Contact & Booking

Hawksmoor House
Matjieskuil Farm
Stellenbosch 
Southafrica
www.hawksmoor.co.za
reservations@lionroars.com 

 

Photography: Tom www.tomwagner.de

Hawksmoor House, Stellenbosch / Südafrika

1_Hawksmoor_MG_1294

Das wunderbare Hawksmoor House

2_Hawksmoor_MG_1470_7

…liegt in den Weinbergen von Stellenbosch nahe Kapstadt

3_hawksmoor_4

Das Haus hat eine lange Tradition

4_Hawksmoor_MG_1315

aber der Star ist die Umgebung…

5_haawks_1

Hélène testet den Garten

6_Hawksmoor_MG_1282

Der Speisesaal im Haupthaus

7_hawksmoor_3

Das Pharmacy Zimmer, Green Room und White Room

8_Hawksmoor_MG_1242

Küche und Esszimmer im eigenen Trakt

9_Hawksmoor_MG_1401_7

Der Grey Room

10_hawksmoor_2

Die Einrichtung im Grey Room

11_Hawksmoor_MG_1333_5

Badezimmer im Grey Room

12_Hawksmoor_MG_1372_k

Der Koi Pool mit Blick auf den Tafelberg

Das Hawksmoor House ist nicht nur eine beliebte Hochzeitslocation, sondern auch ein fantastischer Ort, um die Weinberge von Stellenbosch zu erkunden. Wir waren ein paar Tage zu Besuch und: schwer begeistert. 

Wenn man abends von Kapstadt den südafrikanischen Highway Number One Richtung Paarl hinauffährt, blickt man schon in diese wunderbaren Bergketten, die an manchen Tagen sogar denen der Südtiroler Dolomiten ähneln. Die afrikanische Sonne verfügt hier über die magische Kraft, jede einzelne Spitze dieser Felsen in goldgelbes Licht zu tauchen. Das Hawksmoor House erreicht man bereits kurz nach der Abzweigung Stellenbosch. Und wenn man angekommen ist, in diesem typischen Kapholländischen Anwesen, stellt man sich nur noch die Frage, ob man den Sonnenuntergang neben dem Tafelberg mit einem Sauvignon Blanc oder einem Chardonnay genießt. 

Der Star des Anwesens ist natürlich die traumhafte Umgebung mit den unzähligen Winerys im Dreieck Paarl, Stellenbosch und Franscheok. Alle schön, alle von höchster Qualität. Doch das Hawksmoor House ist als Herberge nicht zu unterschätzen: es hat eine große Historie und schafft das, was wenigen Hotels gelingt: einen Spagat zwischen elegant und richtig rustikal. Wenn man tagsüber am Pool sitzt, könnte das auch ein Motel an der Straße von Palm Springs sein. Nur eben mit einem schöneren Gebirge im Hintergrund und deutlich günstigeren Weinangeboten auf der Tageskarte. 

Die 16 Zimmer sind alle hübsch, alle sauber und alle unterschiedlich. Einige Räume sind nach ihrer geschichtlichen Vergangenheit benannt. Es gibt den Poison Room oder auch das Pharmacy Zimmer, in dem früher tatsächlich die Medikamente lagerten und das wir sehr empfehlen können! Im Tool Room waren früher die Gerätschaften des Hauses untergebracht und dann gibt es einen ganzen Trakt namens „Slave Cottage“, was man nicht weiter erklären muss. 

Ideal für

Menschen, die auf ihrer Südafrika-Reise die Winelands rund um Stellenbosch besuchen möchten und eine sehr kreative Ausgangsbasis mitten in der Steppe suchen. 

Preise

Im Nordhalbkugel-Winter (Südafrika-Hauptsaison): ca. 70 Euro pro Person, im Sommer (Nebensaison): ca. 50 Euro pro Person. 

Frühstück

Sehr gut, man kann wählen zwischen English und Continental. Wer tagsüber das Haus nicht verlassen möchte, kann auch eine kalte Platte bekommen. 

Special

Das Hawksmoor House gehört zur Gruppe der Lion Roars Hotels, die im Amakhala Game Reserve auch Safaris anbieten (siehe auch bei uns auf dem blog: www.theprettyhotelsblog.com/?p=666.). Man kann also auch ein Gesamtarrangement buchen. 

Lage

Google maps: http://goo.gl/maps/43k23

Kontakt

Hawksmoor House
Matjieskuil Farm
Stellenbosch 
Südafrika
www.hawksmoor.co.za
reservations@lionroars.com 

Fotos: Tom – www.tomwagner.de