Countryside

Amberg / Bavaria

Bootshaus Amberg

Send to friends and family

Some buildings are just that … buildings. And some are places with a vibrant energy. Enter the new Bootshaus Amberg with five historic houses, some of which date back to the 14th century and you get that feeling, You immediately want to stay and have dinner here right away – preferably a few delicacies from the region. And top it off with a local beer. You could organize your Christmas party here. Or even better: organize a trip to this small town together with a group of friends.

Yes, spending a few nights in the Bootshaus Amberg is also on the menu so to speak.

Amberg is not Paris, but you can still celebrate the l’ art de vivre.

The 19 small & cozy rooms are nested in three historic houses next to the restaurant. Some are located in the attic with sloping ceilings, very comfy and with a view of the old town and the river, that floats slowly in front of the house. We tried out the small attic suite “Uhrmacherin” (watchmaker) which despite its size (think: tiny house-style) ”easily sleeps three people, so bring your kid. There is a minibar, a Treca box-spring bed, a bunk bed, a view of the river and a homey ambience. If that is right up your alley (no pun intended), you cannot go wrong at Bootshaus Amberg.

bootshaus-amberg12
bootshaus-amberg2
bootshaus-amberg4

The idea of creating such a high-quality place came from a local family. The patron, Klaus Herdegen, says: “My dream has always been to have my own inn. To cater for people. It’s in my DNA, even if it’s a lot of work,” One of the reasons he loves to stand outside on the terrace on Saturdays and barbecue sausages to sell to guests and locals.

Klaus is lucky that his daughters Eva and Anna share his passion. In recent years, Eva has worked in hotels that she found via Pretty Hôtels. For example, at the 1477 Reichhalter in Lana in South Tyrol. The family also found inspiration for their own hotel there. As the 1477 Reichhalter is one of the most beautiful hotels and guesthouses.

The library is even suitable for a nice workshop. Or a meeting.

Facts

The Bootshaus Amberg has 15 rooms and four suites, none of which are particularly large, but all of them have something in common: they are cozy. The smallest category is petit with 13 – 15 square meters. The largest suite measures 34 square meters and has a free-standing bathtub and a small terrace. Reception is not staffed 24 hours a day, but you can always reach someone through the restaurant and a staff member will help you with the check-in and get you settled in.

Breakfast

The restaurant is the centerpiece of the hotel. There are two dining rooms, one on the ground floor and one on the first floor, where breakfast is also served. Speaking of breakfast, we thought it was incredibly good and very well organized. You can choose between lots of small snacks, which are then served individually to your table. No buffet, but still a perfect way to start the day. If you’re in a rush, just grab a croissant and a coffee.

bootshaus-amberg6
bootshaus-amberg7
bootshaus-amberg8
bootshaus-amberg9

Culinary

Dinner at the inn is a must. During our visit, the guests from the neighboring table raved about the food they had. They couldn’t have been more pleased. After having tried it ourselves, we cannot beg to differ.

What’s cooking?

Beetroot carpaccio as a starter, chicken saltimbocca with pumpkin ratatouille and with either polenta or spelt pasta served with broccoli and radicchio. For dessert try the pistachio cake and a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

There are many vegetarian dishes, all beautifully served on a modern plate. Choose a red or a white from Anna’s expertly assembled wine list. But as Amberg is a beer town (7 breweries), we also recommend a local brew, for example a Winkler Zoigl.

Ideal for

Amberg is not Munich, but it has that particular Bavarian countryside charm. It’s definitely worth a visit for a weekend and if you’re traveling from the surrounding area, you could celebrate a milestone birthday here in style. In summer, you can hire a canoe from the hotel and paddle down the river. Or a bike.

Magnificent: the morning view from the Uhrmacherin suite.

Price

Doubles around 125 euros including breakfast.

Booking & Contacts

Bootshaus Amberg
Schiffbrückgasse 11
92224 Amberg /Bavaria
Germany

www.bootshaus-amberg.de

Send E-Mail

Receive special offers and stay updated

Sign up to our exclusive mailing list.

Auf dem Land

Amberg / Oberpfalz

Bootshaus Amberg

Send to friends and family

Gleich hinein in die zum Teil 600 Jahre alten Gemäuer des Bootshaus Amberg, die direkt am Fluss Vils liegen. Ganz ehrlich – man spaziert hinein und denkt: Hier möchte man bleiben. Wunderbare Energie! Hier möchte man gleich zu Abend essen – am besten ein paar lokale Schmankerln aus der Region. Dazu ein einheimisches Bierchen in netter Gesellschaft. Man könnte hier seine Weihnachtsfeier ausrichten. Oder noch besser: mit einer kleinen, feinen Truppe einen Ausflug in diese kleine Stadt organisieren. Denn im Bootshaus Amberg darf man auch nächtigen.

Sehr schön sogar. (Sonst würden wir es auch nicht empfehlen).

Amberg ist nicht Paris, aber deshalb kann man trotzdem die l‘ art de vivre zelebrieren.

Die 19 kleinen, schmucken Zimmer befinden sich verschachtelt in drei historischen Häusern neben dem Lokal. Manche liegen im Dachgeschoss mit schrägen Decken, urgemütlich und mit Blick auf die Altstadt und den Fluss, der langsam vor dem Haus dahin schwimmt. Wir durften die kleine Dachgeschoss-Suite „Uhrmacherin“ testen, die man theoretisch auch mit einem Kind bewohnen kann. Das Zimmer ist zwar nicht groß, aber es erinnert einen an ein Tiny House. Schräge Decke, viele Balken. Es gibt eine Minibar, ein Treca Boxspring Bett, eine Schlafkoje, Fluss-Blick und kreatives Ambiente. Wer so etwas mag, ist im Bootshaus Amberg nicht falsch.

bootshaus-amberg12
bootshaus-amberg2
bootshaus-amberg4

Die Idee, einen solch hochwertigen Ort zu schaffen, hatte eine Amberger Familie. Der Patron, Klaus Herdegen, sagt: „Mein Traum war es schon immer, ein eigenes Gasthaus zu haben. Leute zu bewirten. Auch wenn es viel Arbeit ist, das ist irgendwie in mir drinnen.“ Deshalb steht er Samstags auch am liebsten draußen auf der Terrasse und brutzelt Bratwürstchen, um sie an Gäste und Einheimische zu verkaufen.

Klaus hat das Glück, dass sich seine Töchter Eva und Anna ebenfalls für dieses Projekt interessieren. Eva arbeitete in den vergangenen Jahren in Häusern, die sie via Pretty Hôtels fand. Zum Beispiel im 1477 Reichhalter im Südtiroler Lana. Dort holte sich die Familie auch Inspiration für das eigene Haus. Da das 1477 Reichhalter zu den schönsten Hotels und Gasthäusern gehört, war das prinzipiell eine gute Idee.

Die Bibliothek eignet sich sogar für einen schönen Workshop. Oder ein Meeting.

Facts

Das Bootshaus Amberg hat 15 Zimmer und vier Suiten, die alle nicht besonders groß sind, aber sehr gemütlich. Die kleinste Kategorie ist petit mit 13 – 15 qm. Die größte Suite misst 34qm und hat neben einer frei stehenden Badewanne auch noch eine kleine Terrasse. Die Rezeption ist nicht 24h besetzt, man erreicht aber via Restaurant und einem Mitarbeiter gegenüber immer jemanden, der einem beim Check-In behilflich ist.

Frühstück

Wie beschrieben, ist das Gasthaus das Herzstück des Hotels. Es gibt zwei Gaststuben, eine im Erdgeschoss und eine im ersten Stock, in der auch das Frühstück serviert wird. Apropos Frühstück: Fanden wir unglaublich gut und sehr sinnvoll gestaltet. Man wählt zwischen ganz vielen, kleinen Snacks, die man sich dann individuell auf den Tisch servieren lässt. Kein Buffet, sondern langsames in den Tag starten. Wer es eilig hat, für den gibt es natürlich auch ein schnelles Croissant und einen Kaffee.

bootshaus-amberg6
bootshaus-amberg7
bootshaus-amberg8
bootshaus-amberg9

Kulinarik

Ein Dinner im Gasthaus ist Pflicht. Bei unserem Besuch schwärmten die Haus-Gäste vom Nachbarstisch, das Abendessen sei ein absoluten Erlebnis. Sie vergaben 10 Punkte in allen Belangen. Können wir nur bestätigen. Die Karte liest sich angenehm.

Was gibt’s?

Rote Beete Carpaccio als Vorspeise, Hähnchen Saltimbocca mit Kürbis-Ratatouille und Polenta oder Dinkelpasta mit Broccoli und Radiccio. Später noch ein Pistazienküchlein und eine Kugel Vanille-Eis.

Es gibt viele vegetarische Speisen, alles schön auf einem modernen Teller serviert. Tochter Anna hat bereits edle Weine auf der Karte sortiert. Da Amberg eine Bierstadt ist (7 Brauereien) empfehlen wir aber auch den Gerstensaft hier, zum Beispiel ein Winkler Zoigl.

Ideal für

Amberg ist nicht Paris, aber das ist sozusagen der Charme. Für ein Wochenende lohnt sich der Besuch in jedem Fall und wer aus der näheren Umgebung kommt, könnte hier sehr elegant einen runden Geburtstag feiern. Im Sommer kann man sich im Haus ein Kanu leihen und den Fluss hinab paddeln. Oder ein Rad.

Grandios: Der morgendliche Ausblick aus der Suite Uhrmacherin.

Preise

Das Doppelzimmer Klassik kostet beispielsweise ab 125 Euro mit Frühstück.

Buchung & Kontakt

Bootshaus Amberg
Schiffbrückgasse 11
92224 Amberg / Bayern

www.bootshaus-amberg.de

E-Mail Anfrage

Sonder-Angebote & Neu-Entdeckungen direkt in Ihrem Postkasten

Schnell in die Mailingliste eintragen.