Where to go

Austrian Mountains

Wintermagic in Bad Gastein

Send to friends and family

Fabulous Bad Gastein in winter: Think of snow-covered Grand Hotels, cosy afternoons by the fireplace, festive dinner parties and long evenings at the bar. And of course walks through the fairytale winter wonderlands in Tiny Tibet (Sportgastein).

Speaking of snow: Due to its location facing the north this mountain valley in particular is extremely snow-safe – and therefore popular with skiers and snowboarders. Insider knowledge anyone? Bad Gastein’s local mountain, the Graukogel, is well-known among freeriders. And the longest downhill run in the Salzburger Land area (a 10-kilometre run down to the valley of Bad Hofgastein) is just around the corner.

Because Bad Gastein lies at an altitude of over 1000 metres, you will often experience their famous winter wonderland skyline.

On another note: Bad Gastein is has a slightly different approach to typical Austrian aprés-ski parties. In the village, they like to entertain you with a rather cultural and artsy vibe. More Negroni, less Schnaps.

This is mainly due to the town’s clientele, who tend to come from urban areas like Hamburg, Amsterdam or Berlin and these modern Zeitgeist people have created a cosy home away from home here. If you want to enjoy a long breakfast and then attend a yoga class first, Bad Gastein will always be the place to go.

And if you’re still looking for the right accommodation, here are three hotels and flats that we’ve had in our family for a long time and can always recommend.

By the way: There are great train connections to Bad Gastein. And – as you know – travelling by train is a treat for body and soul, even in winter.

Haus Hirt
The cosiest hours with wellness, culture, fantastic views, rustic rooms and great food in the most beautiful hotel restaurant in the Alps can only be experienced at Haus Hirt.

This place is one of our true jewels in the mountains. Hostess Evelyn enchants every guest with the Haus Hirt magic in no time at all. This is not only due to her own energy, but also that of her team and the unique atmosphere of this house. Like-minded people meet to spend their holidays in a place they love – with happy people around them. Most of them are active during the day and enjoy a festive dinner in the evening.

Prices

Doubles with full board from 91 euros per person (small room in low season) to 181 euros per person (suite in high season). All of the prices can be found here.

Booking & Contacts

Haus Hirt
Kaiserhofstraße 14
Bad Gastein
Austria
+43 6434 27970
www.haus-hirt.com

E-Mail Request

Miramonte
The Miramonte design hotel: creative rooms and a real meeting place, especially for the younger ones.

The Miramonte is one of these places we’d always recommend to the younger generation. The boss, architect Ike Ikrath, created a mix of a cool bed and breakfast and design hotel from a typical 1970s building. The 36 rooms are bright, modern, not playful, but still somehow cosy. In the evening, guests first meet in the restaurant – occasionally for common dinners together at a large table – and then later in the large bar, which has the exact opposite feel of a typical hotel bar in an Austrian ski resort. You really want to stay here and listen to the DJ’s beats.

Prices

Doubles from 80 euros per person incl. breakfast.

Booking & Contacts

Designhotel Miramonte
Reitlpromenade 3
Bad Gastein
Salzburger Land / Austria
www.hotelmiramonte.com
info@hotelmiramonte.com

Check Availability

Alpenlofts
Alpenlofts view: Sit together in a cosy atmosphere and enjoy the Gasteiner mountainside.

The Alpenlofts are located just above the Haus Hirt on a beautiful slope overlooking the Hofgastein valley. What we like most about the Alpenlofts? You live in your own mountain chalet at first-class level, so there is a lot of space to unwind. Or you share it with your family. If you like you can cater for yourself, but you can also walk down to Haus Hirt for dinner (3 min.) or to Miramonte (10 min.) – or into the village (12 min.).

Features

All the chalets have a minimum of two bedrooms available, a modern kitchen with appliances from Miele and tableware by the classic Finnish designer Iittala. The generous living areas are made up of chairs by Ray and Charles Eames, there are lamps by Josef Frank and television by Loewe, therefore only the best is good enough.

Price

Small price example: The first floor of the “Tessa” loft with two bedrooms (for four people), is available from 340.- euros per night (high season 460.- euros per night).

Booking and contact

Alpenlofts
Toscaniniweg 7-12
A -5640 Bad Gastein
Austria

www.alpenlofts.com

Reservations also at
Tel.:+43 6434 2797-0

E-Mail Request

 

 

Receive special offers and stay updated

Sign up to our exclusive mailing list.

Berge

Salzburger Land

Wintermagic in Bad Gastein

Send to friends and family

Bad Gastein im Winter: Da denkt man an verschneite Belle Epoque Hotels, zauberhafte Nachmittage am Kamin, festliche Dinnerparties, lange Abende an der Bar. Und Winterwonderland-Spaziergänge oben im Tiny Tibet von Sportgastein.

Was uns immer wieder auffällt, in Bad Gastein: Man krabbelt direkt in die Ferien, lässt sich direkt von der positiven Energie dieses Ortes verzaubern. Erst neulich saßen wir im Valeriehaus in Wolldecken vor dem Haus, Sparkling Rosé wurde auf dem Tablett geliefert, die Sonne spiegelte sich im Schnee. Wunderbar!

Apropos Schnee: Das Bergtal ist aufgrund seiner Nordlage äußerst schneesicher  – und deshalb bei Ski- und Snowboardfreaks sehr beliebt. Insider wissen: Der Hausberg von Bad Gastein, der Graukogel, ist ein Paradies für Freerider.

Ganz beliebt in diesem Jahr: Eine Nachtskitour auf den Graukogel. Eine illustre Runde steigt jeden Mittwoch und Freitag mit Stirnlampe und Fellen an den Skiern hinauf auf den Gipfel – um abends müde und glücklich ins Bett zu fallen. (Dazwischen genießt man natürlich ein Bierchen, die Abfahrt und das Dinner).

Weil Bad Gastein auf einer Höhe von über 1000 Metern liegt, gibt es oft das berühmte Winterwonderland.

Das schöne an Bad Gastein ist ja: Es gibt wenig Heppi Beppi Aprés Ski, dafür mehr Kunst und Kultur.

Das liegt vor allem am Publikum dieses Ortes, das eher aus dem urbanen Raum kommt und sich hier ein flauschiges home away from home geschaffen hat. Wer in Ruhe frühstücken und erst einmal eine Yoga-Stunde besuchen möchte, ist in Bad Gastein immer richtig.

Und wer noch die passende Unterkunft für diesen Winter sucht, dem seien hier drei Hotels und Apartments ans Herz gelegt, die wir schon lange in unserer Family haben und immer aus Neue empfehlen können.

Übrigens: Nach Bad Gastein gibt es grandiose Zugverbindungen. Und die Anreise mit der Bahn ist auch im Winter eine Wohltat für Körper und Geist.

Das Haus Hirt
Die gemütlichsten Stunden mit Wellness, Kultur, Ausblick, urigen Zimmern und grandiosem Essen im schönsten Hotel-Restaurant der Alpen erlebt man im Haus Hirt.

Eines unserer echten Juwelen in den Bergen. Gastgeberin Evelyn schafft es, jeden Gast binnen kürzester Zeit mit der Haus Hirt-Magie zu verzaubern. Das liegt nicht nur an ihrer eigenen Energie, sondern auch der ihres Teams und dem Flair dieses Hauses. Hier treffen sich Gleichgesinnte Menschen, um Ferien an einem Ort zu verbringen, den sie ins Herz schließen – mit lieben Menschen um sich herum. Tagsüber ist man aktiv, geht auf die Pisten oder besucht die bestens kuratierten Yoga classes, abends genießt man das festliche Dinner.

Preise

Doppelzimmer mit Vollverpflegung von 91 Euro pro Person (Kleines Zimmer in der Nebensaison) bis 181 Euro pro Person (Suite in der High Season). Die gesamte Preisliste gibt’s hier.

Buchung & Kontakt

Haus Hirt
Kaiserhofstraße 14
Bad Gastein / Österreich
+43 6434 27970
www.haus-hirt.com

E-Mail Anfrage

Miramonte
Das Designhotel Miramonte: Kreative Zimmer und vor allem für die Jüngeren ein echter Treffpunkt.

Das Miramonte ist ein Hotel, das man den Jüngeren empfehlen sollte. Der Chef, Architekt Ike Ikrath, hat hier schon vor Jahren aus einem typischen 70er Jahre Bau einen Mix aus cooler Frühstückspension und Designhotel kreiert. Die 36 Zimmer sind hell, modern, nicht verspielt, aber dennoch irgendwie gemütlich. Abends trifft man sich zuerst im Restaurant – ab und zu auch zu gemeinsamen Dinners an einer großen Tafel – und später dann in der großen Bar, die genau das Gegenteil einer typischen Hotelbar eines Österreichischen Skiortes ausstrahlt. Hier möchte man tatsächlich bleiben und den Beats des DJs lauschen.

Preise

Doppelzimmer schon ab 80 Euro pro Person inklusive Frühstück.

Buchung & Kontakt

Designhotel Miramonte
Reitlpromenade 3
Bad Gastein
Salzburger Land / Österreich
www.hotelmiramonte.com
info@hotelmiramonte.com

Direkt buchen

Alpenlofts
Alpenlofts-Ausblick: Gemütlich zusammensitzen und die Gasteiner Bergwelt genießen.

Die Alpenlofts befinden sich etwas oberhalb vom Haus Hirt an einem wunderschönen Hang, von dem man ins Tal von Hofgastein blickt. Was uns an den Alpenlofts am meisten gefällt: Man wohnt hier sozusagen auf First Class Niveau im eigenen Bergchalet, kann sich zurückziehen – oder der Familie riesigen Auslauf gönnen. Wer möchte, versorgt sich selber, man darf aber auch zum Dinner ins Haus Hirt hinunter spazieren (3 Min.) oder zum Miramonte (10 Min.) oder in den Ort (12 Min.).

Ausstattung

Alle Chalets verfügen über mindestens zwei Schlafzimmer, eine moderne Küche mit Geräten von Miele und Geschirr vom finnischen Designklassiker Iittala. In den großzügigen Wohnbereichen stehen Sessel von Ray und Charles Eames, es gibt Lampen von Josef Frank und Fernseher von Löwe, also alles vom feinsten.

Preisbeispiel

Das Obergeschoss des „Tessa“ Lofts mit zwei Schlafzimmern (also für vier Personen), gibt’s zum Beispiel ab 340.- Euro pro Nacht (High Season 460.- Euro pro Nacht).

Buchung und Kontakt

Alpenlofts
Toscaniniweg 7-12
A -5640 Bad Gastein
Österreich

www.alpenlofts.com

Reservierung auch unter
Tel.:+43 6434 2797-0

E-Mail Anfrage

 

 

Sonder-Angebote & Neu-Entdeckungen direkt in Ihrem Postkasten

Schnell in die Mailingliste eintragen.