La Comuna, Girona / Spain

Frodeno goes Hotelier. The triathlon superstar fulfilled his dream and opened amazingly pretty (guest) apartments in the historic town of Girona. Start off into the Pyrenees from the in-house café if you are a cycling fan. And if not … make sure you come anyway.

As always, a bit of geography first: Girona is located about 1.5 hours’ drive northeast of Barcelona. The hills and peaks of the Pyrenees stretch out just behind the historically enticing city. France is practically around the corner. The advantage of this area: you get to enjoy a very mild climate all year round. Not only do athletes love the area but so do gourmets. One of the best restaurants in the world, El Celler Can Roca, is attracting international guests on the outskirts of the city. And cycling fans make a pilgrimage to the city as if they were bees following a queen.

La Comuna City Oasis

Right next to what is deemed Europe’s most famous café for cycling enthusiast, La Fabrica, in other words smack in the middle of old town, German Olympic triathlon champion and 3-time Ironman Hawaii winner Jan Frodeno has opened a stylish apartment building. Frodeno has lived and trained in the northern Spanish city for years. He says: “I feel very comfortable here, so why not help to make it a fitting place to live and stay.” So one evening we are standing with him and his wife Emma in front of a blue 16th century city palazzo. A dream house with inner courtyards and a roof terrace where you can even barbecue in summer.

 

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

The two new hosts are very familiar with the details of materials and furniture. And they reveal: “We are hotel aficionados by heart”. You can definitely tell. The four very spacious flats (“city oases”) leave nothing to be desired. We especially liked the beautiful room layout and the bright, somewhat modern interior. In the living rooms, you can quickly prepare a small meal or invite several guests over for dinner. What we loved most about the interior: the head boards of the beds are made out of old doors and the bathrooms are painted green. All details about the flats can be found here.

What’s not to love: the light in one of the La Comuna oases.

La Comuna Café

A little further down the village, but still centrally located at the entrance to the old town, is the second house from Frodeno’s La Comuna empire: the La Comuna Residence with the La Comuna Café and a small Ryzon cycling apparel shop. During the day, there is a lot of activity here. People meet for coffee and small, “healthy” dishes like avocado toast with egg from the neighboring farm. Don’t be surprised – there might be good-humored people in cycling gear sitting at the neighboring table. They meet here for the joint rides, which are also organized by the La Comuna team.

In the morning, at lunchtime and in the afternoon, people meet at La Comuna Café.

La Comuna Residence

Above the café are six more convenient and rustic flats (for 2 and 4 people respectively) and a rather large penthouse flat (for a maximum of 8 people). The walls are unplastered, you can see a lot of patina and there is a well-equipped kitchen in each of the living rooms. The flats are accessed via a code, so you are completely independent and quickly feel like a resident of Girona. Here, too, the location is key, with restaurants in the old town just seconds away. Find all details here.

 

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

PH Recommendation

We would recommend a combination of Girona and Costa Brava. A week in our delightful member house La Bionda in the coastal town of Begur (about 40 minutes from Girona) and then another three or four days in Girona. There are lovely shops with local designers and, as mentioned before, a high density of very good restaurants. When we visited, we went to the restaurant Ditifet, which is about a minute away from La Comuna Café. A modern tapas bar where you immediately fall in love with each of the dishes.

Prices

In summer, flat in the Residence from 190€ per night. La Comuna Oasis approx. 290€ per night.

Booking & Contacts

La Comuna Girona
Carrer de Bellaire 7
Girona

llebre@lacomuna.co

Check Hotel-Website

La Comuna, Girona / Spanien

Triathlon-Star Jan Frodeno erfüllte sich einen lange ersehnten Traum und eröffnete in der Altstadt von Girona zwei wunderschöne Apartmenthäuser für Gäste. Und wer zum Radfahren kommt, findet Gleichgesinnte, die vom hauseigenen Café mit in die Pyrenäen starten. Also nichts wie hin.

Wie immer Geografie vorweg: Girona liegt etwa 1,5 Autostunden nordöstlich von Barcelona. Gleich hinter der historisch wertvollen Stadt erstrecken sich die Hügel und Gipfel der Pyrenäen. Da ist man mit einem Bein schon in Frankreich. Der Vorteil dieser Gegend: Es ist das ganze Jahr über sehr mild. Und nicht nur Sportler lieben das Gebiet, sondern auch Gourmets. Eines der besten Restaurants der Welt, das El Celler Can Roca, befindet sich am Stadtrand. Und Radsport-Fans pilgern in die Stadt als wären sie Bienen, die einer Königin folgen.

La Comuna City Oasis

Direkt neben dem wahrscheinlich berühmtesten Velo-Enthusiasten-Café Europas, dem La Fabrica, also mitten in der steilen Altstadt, hat der deutsche Triathlon-Olympiasieger und 3-fache Ironman-Hawaii-Sieger Jan Frodeno ein stylisches Apartmenthaus eröffnet. Frodeno wohnt und trainiert seit Jahren in der Nordspanischen Stadt. Er sagt: „Ich fühle mich hier sehr wohl, also warum nicht dazu beitragen, dass man an diesem wunderschönen Ort auch passend wohnen und übernachten kann.“ Also stehen wir eines Abends mit ihm und seiner Frau Emma vor einem blauen Stadtpalazzo aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Ein Traumhaus mit Innenhöfen und Dachterrasse, auf der im Sommer sogar gegrillt werden darf.

 

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Die beiden neuen Gastgeber kennen sich mit Details von Materialien und Möbeln sehr gut aus. Und verraten: „Wir sind absolute Hotel Aficionados.“ Das merkt man durchaus. Die vier sehr geräumigen Apartments („City-Oasen“) sind für einen Besuch absolut empfehlenswert. Uns gefiel vor allem die schöne Raumaufteilung und das helle, etwas modernere Interieur. In den Wohnräumen kann man sich schnell ein kleines Essen zubereiten oder auch mehrere Gäste zum Dinner einladen. Absolutes Interiour Highlight: Die Rückwände der Betten aus alten Türen und die grün gestrichenen Bäder. Alle Details zu den Apartments stehen hier.

Muss man mögen: Das Licht in einer der La Comuna Oasen.

La Comuna Café

Etwas weiter unten im Ort, aber dennoch zentral am Eingang zur Altstadt gelegen, befindet sich das zweite Haus aus Frodenos La Comuna Reich: Die La Comuna Residence mit dem La Comuna Café und einem kleinen Radsport-Apparel-Shop der Marke Ryzon. Tagsüber herrscht hier großer Betrieb. Man trifft sich zum Kaffee und kleinen, „gesunden“ Gerichten wie Avocado-Toast mit Ei vom benachbarten Bauernhof. Nicht wundern, ab und zu sitzen am Nachbarstisch gut gelaunte Menschen in Radklamotten. Sie treffen sich hier zu den gemeinsamen Ausfahrten, die auch vom La Comuna Team mit organisiert werden.

Morgens, mittags und nachmittags trifft man sich im La Comuna Café.

La Comuna Residence

Über dem Café befinden sich noch einmal zwei sechs praktische und rustikale Apartments (für 2 bzw. 4 Personen) und eine ziemlich große Penthouse-Wohnung (für maximal 8 Personen). Die Wände sind unverputzt, man sieht viel Patina und in den Wohnräumen ist jeweils eine gut ausgestattete Küche. Die Wohnungen erreicht man über einen Code, ist also komplett unabhängig und fühlt sich schnell wie ein Bewohner von Girona. Auch hier ist die Lage Eins A, zu den Restaurants in der Altstadt sind es sozusagen 30 Sekunden. Die Details stehen hier.

 

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

PH Tipp

Wir würden eine Kombination aus Girona und Costa Brava empfehlen. Eine Woche in unserem entzückenden Mitgliedshaus La Bionda im Küstenort Begur (etwa 40 Minuten von Girona entfernt) und anschließend noch drei, vier Tage Girona. Es gibt hier schöne Shops mit lokalen Designern und wie gesagt eine hohe Dichte an sehr guten Restaurants. Bei unserem Besuch waren wir im Restaurant Ditifet, das etwa eine Minute vom La Comuna Café entfernt liegt. Eine moderne Tapas-Bar, in der man sich in jedes der Gerichte sofort verliebt.

Preise

Im Sommer, Apartment in der Residence ab 190€ pro Nacht. La Comuna Oasis ca. 290€ pro Nacht.

Buchung & Kontakt

La Comuna Girona
Carrer de Bellaire 7
Girona

llebre@lacomuna.co

Zur Hotel-Website