Alpenloge, Bavarian Mountains / Germany

Perfect for the style-conscious traveler: The newly built Alpenloge in the Bavarian mountains sets new standards in quality, location and views that extend as far as Austria.

Just a little geography, so we know where we are: Deep in the German south, holidaymakers love the Allgäu region, which is famous for its hilly landscape and old wooden houses. Some might even compare it to Tuscany in Italy. And right on the border to the famous Bregenzer Wald in Austria, Anja Engelke and Michael Schott have fulfilled their dream of a modern and cosy guest house.

There is quite a bit of history to be told about the property. Before Anja and Michael built the house, they bought an abandoned schoolhouse on this site. After trying to rescue and renovate the building, which dates back to 1930, they decided to start from scratch. But with a lot of effort, they kept the idea of the German Schindelhaus – with wooden shingles on the facade and rooms with high ceilings flooded with light. If you think of The Alpenloge as merely an investment project think again. It is rather a project of the heart by two hosts who are all about taking care of each and every guest. Of course, they both had a life before they transformed into innkeepers. Anja was working in the promotion of civic engagement in Hamburg, Michael worked as a photographer and post-productioner with his own studio.

On a more personal note: We were quite happy to hear that our website was motivation and inspiration to open the Alpenloge!

But back to Anja and Michael. They created such a spectacular place that once you have moved in you do not want to move out ever again. Because everything is of the utmost quality. For the better part of five years they went to every furniture fair and exhibition imaginable in their quest for just the right materials and applications. The results speak for themselves. The beds are from Schramm, the light switches from Berker from the matching 1930s collection, the fittings from the Nicolazzi manufacture. Although all of this has its (high) price, it adds to that special feeling when you spend the night in the Alpenloge.

There are nine rooms in total, six of them suites, varying in size between 30 and 60 square meters. We liked the two suites number seven and eight in the attic the best. Especially for city dwellers, they are a real highlight. One looks through the almost four meter high glass front straight into the Allgäuer mountains. If it were your apartment, you wouldn’t move out again … we did mention that already?

WELLNESS

Oh, there is plenty of that. Around 180.000 square meters of it to be slightly more precise. Right in front of your door step. Climb up on one of those E-Mountainbikes and cruise all the way up to the Hirschberg, take a hike around the Bregenzer Wald or venture out for a dip in the near Bodensee, 20 minutes away. Of course, the Alpenloge does have its own spa featuring a large sauna, a steam bath, a comfortable relaxation room and a small massage parlor.

CULINARY

Look no further than their own restaurant that is exclusively catering to the in-house crowd. In the morning an opulent breakfast is served in a cozy setting. Just bring enough time to enjoy coffee and those succulent egg dishes. There is also a neat little place in the lounge next to the fireplace to enjoy a first coffee in the morning. In the evening, choose from a lovely selection of delicacies – all healthy, organic and for the most part locally produced. Think simple but with a twist. The credo of this particular place: You are on holiday so treat yourself to something good. That generously applies to their selection of wines as well.

Ideal for

Couples seeking for a romantic hideaway. Children are allowed to stay, but it`s not the kind of typical kids club place.

Location

Google Maps Link

Price

Doubles from 190 Euro (for two) including breakfast.

Bookings & Contacts

Alpenloge
Kirchenanger 6
88175 Scheidegg
Allgäu / Bavaria
Germany

www.alpenloge.com

stay@alpenloge.com

Book Directly

Alpenloge, Allgäu / Bayern

Die Alpenloge ist ein neues Super-Refugium für stilbewusste Urlauber. Alles an diesem Haus ist von höchster Qualität, sogar die Lage und der Blick, der bis nach Österreich reicht.

Zunächst wieder Geografie, denn auch diese Lage muss man hervorheben: Insider wissen, dass es südlich der Lindauer Autobahn kurz vor Bregenz ein paar malerische Dörfer gibt, die man sonst nur in kitschigen Romanverfilmungen sieht. Die schönste Ecke – das Rothachtal – liegt kurz vor der Grenze des Allgäus hin zum Bregenzer Wald, also fast schon in Vorarlberg / Österreich. Und genau hier, auf einer Anhöhe mit Blick in die Berge, haben sich Anja Engelke und Michael Schott ihren Traum vom eigenen Guesthouse erfüllt.

Das Anwesen ist zwar ein Neubau. Es wurde aber dem Gebäude nachempfunden, das an dieser Stelle stand. Eine historische Schule aus den 30er Jahren mit Holzschindeln an der Fassade und hohen lichtdurchfluteten Räumen. Ausserdem wurde es sehr nachhaltig in Holzständerbauweise errichtet und besitzt eine aus ökologischer Sicht lobende Pelletheizung. 

Die Alpenloge ist auch kein Investment, sondern ein Herzensprojekt der beiden Gastgeber, die sich persönlich um jeden Gast kümmern. Die beiden sind komplette Quereinsteiger: Anja arbeitete lange Jahre in der Förderung des bürgerschaftlichen Engagements von Hamburg, Michael über 20 Jahre als Fotograf und Post-Productioner.

Wirklich sehr gefreut haben wir uns über die Nachricht, dass unsere Website mitunter Motivation und Inspiration war, die Alpenloge zu eröffnen!

Das wichtigste: Anja und Michael haben einen wunderbaren Ort geschaffen, in den man gerne für länger einziehen würde. Denn alles ist von höchster Qualität. Fünf Jahre nahmen sich die beiden Zeit, um auf Möbelmessen und Ausstellungen die richtigen Materialien und Applikationen zu finden. Die Betten sind von Schramm, die Lichtschalter von Berker aus der passenden 1930er Kollektion, die Armaturen aus der Manufaktur Nicolazzi. Das hat zwar alles seinen (hohen) Preis, fühlt sich beim Übernachten in der Alpenloge aber auch dementsprechend gut an.

Insgesamt gibt es 9 Zimmer zwischen 30 und 60 Quadratmeter, davon sechs Suiten. Die beiden Suiten Nummer sieben und acht im Dachgeschoss gefielen uns am besten. Vor allem für Stadtbewohner sind sie ein echtes Highlight. Man blickt durch die fast 4 Meter hohe Glasfront in die Allgäuer Berge. Wäre es eine Wohnung, man würde nicht mehr ausziehen!

Wellness

Gibt es natürlich auch. Und zwar in erster Linie auf ca. 180.000 Quadratmetern vor dem Haus. Sehr zu empfehlen sind hier E-Mountainbike Ausflüge (zum Beispiel auf den Hirschberg auf über 1000 Metern Höhe), Wanderungen in den Bregenzer Wald und auch der Bodensee befindet sich in 20 Autominuten Entfernung. Die Alpenloge selbst verfügt im Erdgeschoss über einen eigenen Wellness-Bereich mit einem gemütlichen Ruheraum und einer großen Sauna, einem Sole-Dampfbad und Massageraum.

Kulinarik

Die Alpenloge ist direkt mit eigenem Restaurant gestartet. Das ist ausschließlich für die Gäste da. Morgens wird ein Frühstück auf der Etagere gereicht, dazu darf man Eierspeisen bestellen, alles mit sehr viel Zeit und ganz gemütlich. Wer mag, kann auch erst einmal einen Kaffee in der Lounge am Kamin trinken. Abends gibt es dann: Sehr schön ausgewählte Köstlichkeiten – gesund, biologisch, mit vielen Produkten aus der Region, aber eben auch nicht übertrieben. Das Motto des Restaurants: Wir sind im Urlaub, also darf man sich auch was Gutes gönnen. Das gilt auch für die Auswahl der Weine.

Ideal für

Verliebte Paare auf der Suche nach einem Refugium. Kinder sind auch erlaubt, es ist aber kein klassisches kids club Terrain.

Lage

Google Maps Link

Preise

Ab 190 Euro für zwei Personen im Doppelzimmer mit Frühstück.

Buchung & Kontakt

Alpenloge
Kirchenanger 6
88175 Scheidegg
Allgäu / Bayern

www.alpenloge.com

stay@alpenloge.com

Direkt Buchen